All in One Newborn Hire Kit

Option:  
Due Date:  
Price:  £140.00

HIRE KITS GET BOOKED UP MONTHS IN ADVANCE. IF NO STOCK IS SHOWING AND YOU ARE DUE WITHIN 4 WEEKS AND THEREFORE REQUIRE IMMEDIATE DISPATCH. PLEASE PHONE/EMAIL TO CONFIRM IF THERE IS A KIT AVAILABLE.

Excluded from all discount codes.

The All In One hire kits cost:

£90 (single baby) + £50 deposit
£130 (twins) + £50 deposit

On the return of the nappies the £50 deposit can either be refunded for used against a future order
.

The Nappy Lady All In One Hire Kit contains:

  • 15 All In Ones (mix of teenyfits, bambooty small, real easy xs and  bumgenius newborns nappies) (22 for the Twins Hire Kit)
  • 5 Bimbles for nights
  • 2 XS Wraps for over the bimbles
  • 2 Nappi nippas to fasten the bimbles.
     

You'll also need to buy:

  • Paper Liners if you'd like to use them. (Bambinex liners fit the best.)
  • Nappy Bucket/Nappy Mesh to store the used ones in.

    Even with buying these additional items the cost of using the bimbles will work out less than you'd spend on disposables!

The All In One hire period is for 3 Calender Months, but can be extended for an extra £15 per month if required. Your hire period starts from when your baby is born and the hire kit is usually sent out 2 weeks before your due date. We know babies don't always arrive when they are meant to so if they do arrive earlier than this let us know and we'll try to get the kit out as soon as you notify us.  

The All In One Hire Kit will probably not be brand new but will be in a good, clean, sanitised and hygenic condition, washed at every return by The Nappy Lady.

We expect that returned Teenyfits and Bumgenius Newborns, Bambooty newborns and bimbles will have been used and washed according to our guidelines but not damaged. We do expect some wear and tear of course. On the return of the nappies please do not worry if they are stained as this is common with newborn/breastfed poo. Stains are easily removed by drying them on the line (or even a window ledge) in the sun for a day or two and i'll be doing this on their return anyway. If any nappies are returned beyond use, the deposit or part of it may not be refunded to cover the cost of a replacement nappy.

These nappies are very cute and incredibly useful for those early weeks when standard size 1 or birth to potty nappies just seem a bit too big on a tiny newborn.

TeenyFits, Bumgenius Newborns, Bambooty newborns and Bimbles newborn officially fit from 4-15lbs although i find they struggle to fit from 12lbs. At a RRP price per nappy of £9.99 for a TeenyFit and Bumgenius newborn and £6.75 for a Bimble nappy, this makes buying these nappies a luxury most people can't justify for a nappy that will only last a few months.

However i think everybody should have the option of using tiny newborn nappies, i know i was certainly very grateful for mine in the early days. They are both more absorbent than muslins and require no folding. The bimbles are perfect for night time and if you go out and want the reassurance of excellent containment and absorbency. The TeenyFits/Bumgenius Newborns are as close as you can get to a disposable as they are all in one nappies and are perfect for the daytime and any reluctant cloth nappy changers. Teenyfits/Bumgenius newborns are less absorbent than the bimbles and only provide one layer of containment. 

TeenyFits/Bumgenius newborns will come in a variety of unisex colours/patterns depending what is in stock at the time. Bimbles are white.

Once hire kits are dispatched the hire fee will not be refunded in part or full in any circumstances other than in cases in stillbirth. The deposit will be refunded in full on safe return of the hire kit.

 

UK Delivery

  • Orders up to and including £29.99 - £1.99 Second Class or you can upgrade to a quicker delivery option
  • Orders £30.00 to £99.99 - FREE Second Class or you can upgrade to a quicker delivery option
  • Orders £100.00 to £149.99 - Free First Class or you can upgrade to Recorded Delivery or Next Day Courier
  • Orders £150.00 and over - Free First Class Recorded or you can upgrade to our Courier Service
  • Orders £180.00 and over - Free Next Working Day Courier
    • Limited Editions are excluded from our free shipping. We charge extra for limited editions as these are all sent courier due to their value.

      Overseas Delivery

      We also ship worldwide. The cost of international shipping is based on the total weight of your order. The site will automatically calculate the fee based on the items in your basket. If you add or remove items the shipping cost will alter. At the checkout stage you'll be given options of 'International Signed For' and, for some countries, the quicker and fully trackable 'Airsure' service.

      Click here for detailed Delivery Information.

Average Rating (8 Reviews):  
Write a Review and share your opinions!

Rating:  
Excellent intro to cloth
Sunday, 3 September 2017  | 

We hired this kit knowing very little about cloth. Most of the nappies seemed new or very good condition and it had a mix of types. I didn't use them the first few weeks, partly thinking they'd be tricky but actually with hindsight wish i had as they're easy and she grew so fast they didn't all fit as well after a bit. That said it was a fantastic intro and I'm fully converted to cloth. Seeing our huge bin full of disposables(no space for our rubbish!) when she was a week old was a reminder of the benefits of cloth! Hire not buy was great too!

Was this helpful to you?  Yes  /  No

This review has not been appraised.


Rating:  
Well worth it
Friday, 2 June 2017  | 

What a good idea. I was intrigued by the idea of reusable nappies, but not sure enough of my commitment to invest what is a significant initial outlay i my own supply of nappies. This trial was a lovely compromise, especially as the voucher offered by my local council could be redeemed against it.

The kit was exactly as advertised - i got 2 new nappies in my kit, most of the others were as-good-as new, and even the 3 or 4 nappies that had obviously been used before had no smell or stains from prior use to be seen (they were just a bit less soft than the new ones).
Loved the designs and there was a good range of brands to try.
Ultimately reusables werent for me (although i am a complet convert to reusable wipes) but I have no regrets in investing in this trial in order to find that out.
Thanks Nappy Lady!

Was this helpful to you?  Yes  /  No

This review has not been appraised.


Rating:  
Fantastic service
Sunday, 2 April 2017  | 

The newborn hire kit arrived 5 weeks before the due date and I was super impressed that the hire period would only start after my baby was born anyways - great customer service! The nappies were all in great condition (sone even new I suspect) and were great to try out what we likes or not (shaped, poppers, velcro). Unfortunately, our boy turned out to be a super heavy wetter, so we o it used the kit for 4 weeks. But hardly the products nor the nappy ladies fault. I highly recommend it!

Was this helpful to you?  Yes  /  No

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Rating:  
A worthwhile experiment
Wednesday, 8 February 2017  | 

As a first time mum keen to try reusables for environmental reasons this has been a low stress way of dipping my toe in the water. The kit arrived in good time, with nappies of obviously varying ages, but all in entirely serviceable condition - many of the white inners were that shade of grey you get on white items washed repeatedly with colours, so there is no ignoring that these are previously used, but nothing was stained otherwise, everything smelled fresh and all the Velcro and poppers were in good nick. We've had varying success with the nappies themselves - the totsbots seem to be a poor fit on my daughter and have leaked every time, so we have given up on those, on the other hand the sweet pea nappy has been excellent (unlucky for us there was only one in our kit!) - easy to use, relatively compact and leak free so far. I have also found the bimbles and wraps super - really good containment, and in practice we haven't found the two part system with nappy nipper noticeably harder at change times than the all in ones or disposables we've tried, and i liked the ability to shape the fit with the nippers, the only downside is these are bulkier and many of the clothes she's been gifted won't fit with these, so some wardrobe planning is required.
Washing had been easy and even in January and without a tumble dryer drying times have been reasonable - heating the house to a steady temp for the baby has a knock on in this regard. We have used in conjunction with quite a number of disposables as we haven't persevered with the styles that didn't work for us the first few uses, but from my environmental standpoint reducing the disposables is better than nothing and a hire kit shares the manufacture impact with other families so our lower intensity usage isn't an issue. If we had another baby i'd hire the bimbles kit for a newborn instead (and exchange all gifts for a size larger) as these are my favourite, but without having used this mixed kit to explore the options for myself I wouldn't have known that and if you are attracted to all in ones then I would recommend this as a starting point. My only other comment would be that my daughter was 8lb 3.5 born and is now 9lb 14 at 6 weeks and several of the nappies are already seeming on the small side on her (she has lovely chunky thighs!), so if you are expecting a big baby your usage period might be somewhat shorter than 3 months.

Was this helpful to you?  Yes  /  No

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Rating:  
Excellent value and a cheaper way of using reusables from birth
Sunday, 15 January 2017  | 

Having this kit meant that we were able to try out loads of different types of nappies from birth, without the expense of buying newborn size nappies. We also ordered the three week hire kit but this would not have been suitable from birth as the nappies would have been too big, even though our baby was over 9lb at birth! Because baby was big we didn't end up using the kit for the full hire time but it still worked out cheaper than using disposables and meant we were much more used to the various systems when it came to using the bigger birth to potty nappies in the 3 week hire kit.

All the nappies were either new or in excellent condition.

I would recommend this kit for anyone wanting to use reusables from birth, but who doesn't want to fork out for newborn sizes. The difficulty with buying newborn nappies is that you won't know what works for your baby until you try and this could be an expensive period of trial and error, for nappies they may only be in for a matter of weeks. This may not be such an issue if you are planning on having more babies in the future, and you could also sell them on as they hold their value so well. But for us the hire kit was perfect.

Nappy lady was always on hand to answer our questions, and even met with us when we needed more advice. She is so helpful, I won't go anywhere else for my supplies - customer service like this is so rare these days, and it is invaluable as there is so much choice re reusables and a lot of the time what you choose will depend on your baby.

All in all, I would recommend the hire kit to anyone wanting to use reusables from birth.

Was this helpful to you?  Yes  /  No

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Rating:  
Very useful kit
Thursday, 18 August 2016  | 

I was given the all in one newborn hire kit for my baby shower. Overall it has been wonderful using them. It arrived nice and early, even before the arrival of my baby who was born two weeks early. The nappies are adorable and although some had been previously used as advertised they arrived very clean and in great condition to use. I prefer the 'previously loved' ones anyway as it's better for the environment to re-use. Every single one I received is very useable and in good condition. I enjoyed using the various brands so that I got to try them out. I started using them 3 days after my daughter's birth and my daughter is now 11 weeks old and we still enjoy using them. In a couple weeks we'll return the kit since she's starting to get bigger and we will be buying a set of cloth nappies since we are now big fans (and we like the lower environmental impact compared to disposables). Some of the nappies in the kit are better than others which makes sense given the different brands that are included and I'm glad to get to try it out to see differences in size, bulkiness, absorption, and drying time. For example, I heard BumGenius was the best kind but we found these ones leak a little bit compared to others, so well worth the experience. The number of nappies in the kit is good and we wash every 1.5 days. 1 or 2 more nappies in the kit might be helpful in order to have to wash a little less often, but it could just be because our baby goes so often. You don't want too many or else they start smelling of ammonia when sitting used for too long. Our newborn baby seems to like them and rarely gets nappy rash. We bought a sheet of fleece from the fabric store and made our own fleece inserts, very cheap to do and nicer on newborn baby's bottom than a paper insert that sticks to her bottom. I think it would have been helpful to get more detailed instructions on how to use each type we received, rather than saying to look online, because I never did get a good idea on how to properly fasten one of the brands we received but we just tried out various ways and it seems to work. Overall though happy with the kit as I wouldn't have wanted to shell out money for cloth nappies without trying them first. The newborn hire kit is an excellent idea!

Was this helpful to you?  Yes  /  No

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Rating:  
Excellent
Thursday, 3 September 2015  | 

This is the second time i've used The Nappy Lady's hire kit service and I can't fault it. I received a mix of nappies that all fitted my 8lbs newborn perfectly. The hire kit bridged the gap until my baby could fit into my bumgenius elemental. Elementals are birth to potty but I prefer a trimmer fit while baby is so skinny so these fit the bill perfectly. I especially loved the Bambootys in the hire kit as they are really absorbent all in ones for the daytime.
The hire kit comes with XS wraps but I found these got a bit snug when baby was 10lbs, I emailed The Nappy Lady and Wendy sent out the small size wraps at no additional cost for the last few weeks until baby was 12lbs. It would have cost me nearly £300 to buy a full set of newborn nappies and then the hassle of trying to sell them so I was very pleased that a hire option was available. I did look at hiring from my local nappy library but they only offered hires for a couple of weeks and it worked out more expensive with less selection.

Was this helpful to you?  Yes  /  No

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Rating:  
Would not recommend, wasted £92 needed the most
Friday, 14 August 2015  | 

I wouldn't recommend this kit to anybody. I feel greatly disappointed that I ultimately lost £92 (£80 hire plus £12 return postage) and taken advantage of at a vulnerable time - after the birth of my babies.
What I received in the post was a set of nappies that looked properly worn out with 2 new nappies mixed in. My husband found them to be disgusting. I also found them to be disturbing but tried to keep an open mind. Initially I tried to seperate them into two - those I 100% wouldn't feel comfortable using on the babies and those I would keep an open mind and try. Nappy Lady states in advance she doesn't give refunds and I suspect, although she denied it, that I'm not the first person to be completely disappointed with this kit. I used two nappies, one per baby and then decided it wasn't worth it. It made me feel bad using them and my husband was upset because he didn't want them used on the babies so that was it.
I wasn't going to say anything but Nappy Lady asked my opinion of the kit so I told her how I felt. She asked me to send photos but honestly I was so disappointed by the entire transaction and why would I want to be taking photos of nappies when I should be bonding with my babies? I felt like it was an insensitive request from someone who should understand my current situation so I chose not to engage.
So I've lost £92. I'm hugely disappointed. I would urge you to really think very hard before hiring this kit. If you don't care at all about what you put on your new baby then by all means hire this kit. I certainly would suggest to my family/friends to avoid disappointment and certainly not hire this kit and throw their money away. It cost me £92 to use two nappies once each because I couldn't bring myself to put them on my babies.

Was this helpful to you?  Yes  /  No

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Response:

We were most upset and disappointed by your review and that you feel we have taken advantage of you. At The Nappy Lady we are all parents of multiple children and understand how hard the early days can be especially with twins. We have over a decades experience with cloth nappies and know and understand the products in great depth. We don’t feel your review is an accurate description of our service or the product your purchased.
On return of your hire kit we have all independently inspected the kit and are all in agreement that there is absolutely nothing wrong with the contents. Of the 20 nappies you received 5 were new all in ones apart from prewashing and 3 had only been out on one previous hire, the two wraps were also brand new. The remaining 12 nappies had been out on approx. 3 hires but are all in great condition with much life left in them and will continue to go out on hires for much longer. We replace hire kit contents as they wear out so not all nappies are replaced at the same time. We don’t try and hide old ones by adding a few new ones. Velcro tends to wear out before poppers and nippa fastening nappies which is why these items are replaced more frequently. The “retired” nappies from hire kits are then sold through our clearance page and we have NEVER had a complaint from a purchaser of our exhire kit contents and these “retired” nappies would have been used far more than your kit was.

We never send out a kit that is beyond its usable life time however these are hire kits so when ordering it must be expected that they will have been used before. To buy a brand new set of these nappies would cost significantly more than the hire cost and for that saving you have to expect they will have been used already. As in your case part of your kit had recently been replaced so you had a lot of new contents. Between each hire the kits are laundered at a high temperature and sanitised to ensure they are clean ready for the next hirer. If you are concerned about items having been used before i.e. you wouldn’t buy second hand clothes then hire kits won’t be for you and we recommend you look at purchasing your own new items instead. We’ll always be happy to help you choose the right nappies to purchase instead of hiring.
We do not offer refunds on hire kits due to the nature of the product and service. A hire kit will have been washed and prepared especially for the next hirer and then sent via a tracked and insured service, all of this comes at a cost to us. Refunds are not allowed to prevent people using the hire kit and then claiming they didn’t use it and then expecting a full refund. We have never had ANY complaints about the no refund policy before. I’m sorry you feel you have to accuse me of lying that we have had complaints before but we have not. We always publish all reviews good and bad which is why yours has been posted and we always respond to poor ratings. You will find low rating reviews for products throughout the site (not many as we don’t receive many) but they are all approved for people to read and there will be a response to them from us. We normally find a low scoring review is due to incorrect use or not having taken advice when choosing the product.

I’m sorry you felt my request for photos of the nappies was insensitive that was never the intention. Whenever someone is unhappy we always want to try and rectify the situation if we can. We keep extensive notes on our hire kits and couldn’t understand how the nappies could be “disgusting” when our documents showed that much of the contents were so new. We always ask for a photo if there is a fault or problem with an item to try and save the inconvenience of customers having to send an item back. We don’t expect high quality photos just a quick snap from a phone is normally all we will to see a fault. Unfortunately you didn’t want to send photos to us to show us the problem items so we didn’t know which you were unhappy with or why. Having received your kit back we can’t see any issue with the contents.
We prepared the kit again ready for the next hirer and made them aware of the complaints you had with this kit. We asked them to inform us immediately if they felt as a new mother that the nappies are in an unusable or unsuitable way. The kit arrived with them today and the feedback from the lady was that she was delighted with them and excited about using them on her first baby. We have now also contacted our previous recent hirers and asked them to review and feedback on their kits in case they had issues and didn’t inform us of them. If we receive any negative feedback we will of course look to rectify and evaluate the hire service.

Return shipping costs of the hire kits is paid by the hirer (as per the details on the product page). I see that the method you chose cost you £12, there are far cheaper courier methods available via courier sites on the internet. When you have a new baby paying a higher shipping cost for the convenience of your preferred courier is understandable. The average cost of returning hire kits via an online courier is approx. £5. We do not specify a set courier and leave the choice up to the hirer. We do recommend that hire kits are sent tracked and fully insured in case they get lost in transit as the replacement value of kits is over £200.
The Nappy Lady

The Very Best Brand Names
Bumgenius Flip Tots Bots Motherease
Little Lamb Milovia Bambinex Charlie Banana
Bambino Mio Wonderoos Bambooty Close Parent
Nappy help & expertise since 1999